First I Wrote My Name

Once I bounced a ball,

The paper was my wall,

It bounced around my head a while,

That ball and me , we shared a smile,

 

Then I drew a house,

With windows for a mouse,

With curtains, blue and yellow lace,

I told myself, “I like this place”,

 

Then I go to schools,

There they taught me rules,

The first the rule was to “write your name”,

I recognized a different game,

 

Junior High breezed through,

The years passed by, they flew,

The days were filled with sitting still,

My parents worked to pay the bill,

I gained a lot of nothing missed,

Always writing, my hand a fist,

 

And now that years have passed,

I’m on my own at last,

When memory of that ball comes back,

I reminisce, I see the lack,

That ball is bouncing back to me,

It tells me learning should be free.

 

(c) 2013

Leave a Reply

