And When I Look Up

image

When I go outside on a sunny day,
And I look up,
I want to see that beautiful sky.
That deep, deep blue sky,
I love it so much….maybe more than anything.
I want to see it because it feels like…

like a warm bowl of oatmeal on a cold winter morning…

or like a cozy soft cuddly blanket–the kind that your mom keeps on the back of the couch for chilly, rainy nights.

When I go outside
On a sunny day
And I see that sky,
That deep, deep blue sky,
I know that no matter
what happens
that day,
When I look up it will be there.

And when I see that deep,
Deep blue sky,
And things do not go
Exactly right,
There will be something
that is good,
When I look up.

And if by chance that day,
Some dark, grey clouds
Come and smother the deep,
Deep, blue sky,
I will know the dark, grey clouds
Are really why I love my
Deep,
Deep,
Blue
Sky.

When I get home,
And the day has been long,
And the day has been hard,
I will curl up on my couch,
And reach for the cuddly,
Soft,
Blanket…

In the morning,
I will make a bowl of oatmeal,

And when I walk outside,
I want to see the sky…
Because I love it so much.

 

Copyright 2012

One thought on “And When I Look Up

Leave a Reply

